Special Education and Student Services

 

           Welcome to the HSA Southwest Diverse Learners webpage.  On this page you will find updates on any state legislation, Chicago Public Schools ISBE Inquiry, and parent/student resources.   

           Special Education services are available to meet the unique educational needs of eligible students.  Our department plays an important role in the total educational program for the (DL) student.  The (DL) Department strives to cultivate partnerships with parents, teachers, students, administrators, community members, and other stakeholders.

           The (DL) Department has a core set of beliefs that all students can learn, but in various ways and at different rates.  We also believe that there is value in every learner who attends our schools.  All students should benefit from their education, and the (DL) Department will work to ensure this with fidelity.

             If there are any questions or concerns, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

            Respectfully yours,

            Julie King 

            Case Manager

 

DL Staff Contact Information: 

Julie King Case Manager king@hsaswchicago.org  

773-498-3355 ext 191

K-3 DL Teacher Katie Utsch utsch@hsaswchicago.org
3-5 DL Teacher Jane Kinkaid kinkaid@hsaswchicago.org
6-8 ELA DL Teacher Angela Patrick patrick@hsaswchicago.org
6-8 Math DL Teacher Darryl Brown brown@hsaswchicago.org
9-12 ELA DL Teacher Angella Robinson robinson@hsaswchicago.org
9-12 SCI/SS DL Teacher Muna Yusuf yusuf@hsaswchicago.org
Self- Contained Patricia Woodard woodard@hsaswchicago.org 
Social Work Lyndsi Reid reid@hsaswchicago.org
Occupational Therapy Tess Isaacson isaacson@hsaswchicago.org
Speech Jamie Smith                                

Emily Downing 

jsmith@hsaswchicago.org 

edowning.ssg@gmail.com

 

Policy and Laws:

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act: https://sites.ed.gov/idea/

Americans with Disabilities Act: https://www.ada.gov/

Section 504, Rehabilitation Act: https://www.dol.gov/oasam/regs/statutes/sec504.htm

What is the difference between IDEA and ADA with IEP and 504 students? http://www2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/ocr/504faq.html

Parent Resources:

US Department of Education– Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services

https://www2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/osers/osep/index.html

Illinois State Board of Education– Special Education Programs

https://www.isbe.net/Pages/Special-Education-Programs.aspx

Chicago Public Schools– Office of Diverse Learner Supports and Services

http://cps.edu/Pages/DiverseLearners.aspx

Concept Schools – Special Education Department

http://specialeducation.conceptschools.org/

 

Other Links: